An ode to those who finish last

I ran 5km. It was a low-key 5k run organized by some colleagues at work. I was unsure about my form. I had done a couple of short runs this spring, around 1.5 km, which went fine, but it was a good while since I had steady weekly exercise regime.

I think we were about 12 people lined up at the start of the race. I came to the racing track a bit late, and a bit stressed about not reaching the start of the race – so my preperations were not ideal. When the start signal went, I began jogging and trying to put on my running music simultaniously – fumbling about on my apple watch. In the end, I managed to put on “No Geography”, from Chemical Brothers, and the race was on.

It quickly became evident, that I would not be able overtake anyone in this race. I would be the one overtaking, many times.

And while running, I began churning out thoughts. And one thought that kept returning, was one about losers. Or, not exactly losers, that is a very loaded term – but, the people who are at the bottom of the list. The cliched saying about – “Showing up” – and how showing up is allready beating everyone who did not even show up.

We celebrate our winners – we should celebrate the joy of doing the activity. Keep doing things that brings you joy, keep improving your own pace, little by little, but don't compare yourself to others.

Find inspiration in others, not competitors, find teachers, friends and collaborators, find humans not idols – and remember, for everyone – it's about showing up, and doing the work, moving the needle forward, inch by inch.